Text: Larger - Smaller - Resetspacer

Portland House Guest Accommodation

Portland House
Large Holiday Venue

 

Reviews

Guest Reviews

Wonderful Hosts And Facilities
Jenny and John made us very welcome to their lovely home. The bedroom was very comfortable, the furnishings tasteful and above average. Good size bathroom, well equipped and excellent toiletries.
Breakfast was a treat; one had to exercise discipline with the range of hot and cold courses available.
Their interest in my genealogical research enabled me to find out more than I might have otherwise achieved. The awards received in the past few years are well justified. A big thank you for the assistance for my wife's back condition. Your going the extra mile was very much appreciated.

Mrs. Sally Adamson - 20th Nov, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks. Really glad we could help.

Overall First Class
We had Ross suite for a night with 2 young kids. The suite was simply awesome for us. Room was good size, comfy and very well equipped. (even with toys!)

The room though was at top floor so do keep luggage at a minimum. WiFi was very poor at top floor if this is an issue for anyone else.

Mr. Chee Ng - 2nd Sep, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for such a nice review from a very nice family. Wifi is a Herefordshire issue actually!!! It's not fast but we do our best to provide. We always say best place is in the dining room

Portland For
The Portlanad House Guest House was exceptionally welcoming from the moment we arrived, food was great and delightful atmosphere. We had travelled from Ireland and were very happy with our stay there. It is close to many things, we were there for our friend's wedding. Portland was the nearest hotel and well worth another visit!!

Miss. June Robbins - 24th Aug, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
So nice to know this - thank you very much

Appreciated Our 1st Family B&b Experience
We enjoyed our 3-night stay in the Ross Suite, which provided plenty of space. Note that this suite was created from attic space, so the ceilings are lower at certain areas than typical rooms. Water pressure for the shower was a trickle as a result of it being so high above ground.

As it was unusually warm during our stay, we had the windows open during the day and night. Since these did not have screens, bugs were flying in. They did not bite, but were a bit of a nuisance.

Wifi was available, although the signal was weak and intermittment at our suite. Would suggest adding a wifi signal replicator/booster to alleviate this problem.

Location of the property is convenient to all the places we wanted to visit. Highly recommended for those interested in Forest of Dean attractions.

Breakfast was gourmet quality. We appreciated the variety offered. John and Jenny were always on hand, and provided valuable insights for the local area. This was our first B&B experience as a family - a great way to travel.

Mrs. Loan Ho - 27th Jul, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many thanks for such a constructive and also positive review. We can learn from California I know regarding plumbing and insects. The house is of such an age that it can be difficult on the top floor to get the water pressure correct. Sometimes it's better than others. There is an attic above the Suite - you actually stayed in the old servants' quarters!!! Have a great breaks in the UK and enjoy the Olympics

Short Walking Break In Wye Valley
Portland House Guest House was an ideal location for walking the Wye Valley as a linear walk having a convenient bus stop 'on the doorstep' and a boot room if required.

Mrs. Marion Cooke - 27th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you for this useful information for our future walking guests

Portland House Guest
We had a really lovely time. The accommodation was superb, a lovely spacious airy rooom with a splendid 4 poster bed.The Guest House fully deserved all of their accolades for the perfect breakfast.
The owners were so helpful sending us information on nearby restaurants/Gastro pubs so that we could book meals in advance.
I would recommend Portland House as a lovely place to stay to enjoy the beautiful surrounding area.

Mrs. Myra Clarke - 12th Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
All of us at PH are so grateful for such a lovely generous review. Hope we can look after you again in the future. Many thanks.

Five Days In March
We had a wonderful stay of 5 nights at Portland House. The atmosphere was very relaxed and Jenny and John were very welcoming, helpful, and easy going. We were blessed with fantastic weather to explore the beautiful countryside, and we found plenty of places to eat out in the evening. Our breakfasts were delicious (especially the home-made muesli and fruit salads)and enjoyed starting our day around the big table chatting to the other guests

Mr. Geoff Duckworth - 3rd Apr, 2012
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Hope you come back and see us in the future. Thank you so much for your kind comments. Jess wagged her tail.

Very Happy!
When you book anywhere online you take a risk, it all depends on your opinion. John and Jenny have a lovely property, homely and welcoming, as indeed they both are. Sue and I were really impressed by everything, comfy beds, ultra clean rooms, only let down by a shower which needs attention, which we are sure will be fixed as part of their ongoing renovations. Rest assured that if we are in the area again we will definitely be staying again,our five year old, Catrin, wanted to stay permanently,we can't make our minds up whether the breakfasts swung it or that Jess made a huge impact, carry on Jenny and John, you have it just about spot on, just make Jo a feature of breakfast time with her stories about the animals in her life....classic!!

Highly recommended!! Thank you

Neil, Sue and Catrin.

Mr. Neil Broughton - 16th Oct, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
That's really good review which we all appreciated. Jess wagged her tail. Jo took her parrot for a walk (It doesn't live at Portland House!) John had a lie down. You are quite right about the 'lacking in vitality' shower. And to confirm yes, we are a having a total refit of the ensuite in the Ross Suite in December.

An Excellent Stay
We stayed at Portland Guest House for two nights. Very comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful hosts and excellent breakfast (especially the Apricot compote!!). Would recommend to anyone.

Mrs. Rachael Benson - 31st Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Greatly appreciated. Many many thanks

A Wonderful Stay
We stayed at Portland Guest House for four nights in August and had a truly lovely time. We had the Ross suite at the top of the house and our daughter loved playing with the dollhouse and having her own space to sleep separate from her parents. I'm an early riser and the hosts, John and Jenny, graciously brought me a tray of coffee in the lounge while I waited for my family to rise. This really made my day. The house is beautiful, the beds comfortable and the garden is gorgeous. And of course, the countryside is spectacular. We would highly recommend this place!

Ms. Jayne Holt - 26th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Such a wonderful review deserves a special thank you to these very nice guests. Do hope you had a good journey home to Maryland.

Helpful And Accommodating Hosts
A very easy, relaxed and friendly stay. Thank you for your hospitality. Breakfasts were great and the house has lots of character.

Mr. Gary Lucas - 12th Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Thank you very much. Good to have you all stay and feel welcome.

Excellent Help With Itinerary Changes
We had to change our plans and were so pleased with the help, including letting us use their computer and bringing up the booking page of the recommended hotel.

Ms. Stephanie Picard - 2nd Aug, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Our pleasure. Many thanks for choosing us. Good to hear you arrived back in the USA safely.

Highly Recommended
Jenny and John the owners were most welcoming. Our room was very comfortable, spotless and despite being on the side of the A40 remarkably quiet. Breakfast was prompt, plentiful and deliceous.The house is centrally situated to enjoy the river, lovely walks and is just a short walk from the Old Court, a very friendly pub with lovely food and fine ales. We would recommend the Portland Guest House without hesitation.

Mr. Eric Thompson - 14th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
This is so nice to receive. thank you very much and come back soon

Short Stay
An area of the country that we've not visited before so booked a three night stay at the Portland and really enjoyed every minute of our stay. A great part of the World with plenty to do and see round about. Symonds Yat rock and Goodrich castle well worth a visit. Hope to go back again.

Mr. Mark Brocket - 6th Jun, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
John, Debbie, Jo and Anita thank you very much for these kind comments. Jenny is really sorry she missed seeing you so we hope you can return to stay with us again.

Top Accomodation
We had a very warm welcome, Jenny and John are a kind and warm couple. The accomodation in the Ross Suite was superb, allowing us privacy with an ajoining room for the boys. Would heartly recommend as it is a great location, only wish we could have stayed longer.
Dave & Chris

Mr. David Burnley - 23rd Apr, 2011
Verified Review

Response from Hotel
Many many thanks